The Law Offices of

Griffith, Lerman, Lutz & Scheib
110 South Northern Way, York, PA 17402 717-757-7602

Social Security Disability

Social Security Disability pays benefits for individuals who are disabled and who will be unable to work for a period of twelve months or longer.

The Social Security program is an important avenue for elderly and disabled persons to pay for living expenses. However, many people who deserve Social Security benefits are denied payments for a wide variety of reasons. In order to receive these benefits the Social Security Administration mandates that you prove you are unable to work due to a medical condition that will last for one year in duration or that will ultimately result in death. The process for applying for these benefits and proving your claim can be very time consuming and confusing. If an applicant fails to comply with certain deadlines and submit the necessary documentation requested or required by the Social Security Administration, your wait time can be lengthened substantially.

If you are suffering from a debilitating injury or ailment of some kind, you may be eligible to receive Social Security benefits. In addition to disabilities you would expect to be covered by Social Security Insurance (SSI), there are a number of unexpected disabilities that will qualify you for coverage. Here are five types of disabilities that qualify you for SSI benefits:

         Musculoskeletal Disorders

There are a number of different kinds of musculoskeletal ailments that are covered under SSI. Osteoarthritis, vertebral fractures, upper-extremity fractures, soft-tissue injuries like burns, bi-lateral carpal tunnel (both hands), herniated disc (back injury), degenerative disc disease, rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, lupis, chronic pain disorders (RSD), and disorders affecting your joints may qualify you for Social Security Insurance benefits.

         Mental Illnesses

Mental disorders that affect your ability to work are covered through SSI benefits. These include autism, developmental disorders, anxiety disorders, seizure disorders, traumatic brain injury, migraine/severe headaches, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), panic attacks/anxiety disorders, mental retardation, schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders, organic mental disorders such as bipolar or clinical depression, and certain personality disorders. These illnesses must be officially documented by a medical professional before your application for SSI benefits can be submitted.


         Skin Disorders

Certain serious skin disorders may also qualify you for Social Security benefits. People suffering from erodemra pigmentosum, bullous disease, chronic skin infections, dermatitis, and ichthyosis are typically eligible for Social Security benefits.

         Respiratory Illnesses

People with chronic respiratory illnesses such as cystic fibrosis, pneuconiosis, bronchiectasis, asthma, and chronic pulmonary insufficiency are also eligible for Social Security benefits. Sleep-related disorders and recent lung transplant recipients are also covered.

         Endocrine Disorders

Victims of endocrine disorders are eligible for Social Security benefits. These disorders include pituitary gland disorders, thyroid disorders, hypo- and hyperglycemia, and adrenaline disorders.


*The above does not reflect 100% of the disabling conditions that are recognized by the Social Security Administration.

The above conditions simply reflect conditions which we or other Social Security disability lawyers have helped people obtain benefits. Hiring a Social Security lawyer is affordable. We do not charge a fee unless you are successful. Are fees are limited by the Social Security Administration and payable out of past-due benefits. The fee is limited to 25% of the past-due benefits with a limit by the Social Security Administration. If there are no past-due benefits, then we do not charge anything for our legal services.

We can assist you with your case, even if you cannot leave your home. Remember there is Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) which are programs that provide assistance to people with disabilities. Only individuals who meet certain medical criteria are eligible to receive benefits from the SSI or SSDI program.